Computation, Analysis and Applications of PDEs with Nonlocal and Singular Operators

(04 Feb 2022–04 Mar 2022)

Organizing Committee






Contact Information

General Enquiries: ims-enquiry(AT)
Scientific Aspects Enquiries: lilian(AT)


Many physical phenomena and engineering processes involve nonlocal diffusion or global interactions, but their effective modeling, simulation and mathematical justification can be difficult. Partial different equations (PDEs) with nonlocal and singular operators, which particularly include fractional derivatives, fractional or nonlocal Laplacian and convolutions, have been emerging as a powerful tool for modelling overlapping microscopic and macroscopic scales, anomalous diffusion/transport, anisotropic dispersive media, long-range time memory or spatial interactions and among others. In the past decade, there has been much progress in both modelling and computation related to this subject area.




Tutorial speakers

  • Andrea Bonito (Texas A&M University, USA)
  • Li-Lian Wang (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore)
  • Xiaochuan Tian (University of California San Diego, USA)
  • Zhi Zhou (The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong, China)


Workshop 1 speakers

  • Gabriel Acosta (University of Buenos Aires, Argentina)
  • Xavier Antoine (Université de Lorraine, France)
  • Remi Carles (Centre national de la recherche scientifique, France)
  • José A. Carrillo (Oxford University, UK)
  • Sheng Chen (Beijing Normal University, China)
  • Jin Cheng (Fudan University, China)
  • Marta D'Elia (Sandia National Laboratories, USA)
  • Weihua Deng (Lanzhou University, China)
  • Jinqiao Duan (Illinois Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Christian Glusa (Sandia National Laboratories, USA)
  • Gerd Grubb (University of Copenhagen, Denmark)
  • Hoang Viet Ha (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore)
  • Lili Ju (University of South Carolina, USA)
  • Honglin Liao (Nanjing University of Aeronautics and Astronautics, China)
  • Emmanuel Lorin (Carleton University, Canada)
  • Zhiping Mao (Xiamen University, China)
  • Peter A. Markowich (King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, Saudi Arabia)
  • William McLean (UNSW Sydney, Australia)
  • Kassem Mustapha (King Fahd University of Petroleum and Minerals, Saudi Arabia)
  • Ricardo Nochetto (University of Maryland, USA)
  • Zhonghua Qiao (The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong, China)
  • Xavier Ros-Oton (ICREA and University of Barcelona, Spain)
  • Martin Stynes (Beijing Computational Science Research Center, China)
  • Chunmei Su (Tsinghua University, China)
  • Hai-Wei Sun (University of Macau, China)
  • Xiaochuan Tian (University of California San Diego, USA)
  • Hong Wang (University of South Carolina, USA)
  • Juncheng Wei (The University of British Columbia, Canada)
  • Masahiro Yamamoto (The University of Tokyo, Japan)
  • Zhimin Zhang (Beijing Computational Science Research Center, China)
  • Jiwei Zhang (Wuhan University, China)
  • Yong Zhang (Tianjin University, China)


Workshop 2 speakers

  • Christopher Angstmann (UNSW Sydney, Australia)
  • Mejdi Azaiez (Bienvenue à Bordeaux INP, France)
  • Juan Pablo Borthagaray (Universidad de la República del Uruguay, Uruguay)
  • Yongyong Cai (Beijing Normal University, China)
  • Zhenning Cai (National University of Singapore, Singapore)
  • Eric Cances (Ecole des Ponts ParisTech, France)
  • Kai Diethelm (University of Applied Sciences Würzburg-Schweinfurt - FHWS, Germany)
  • Ling Guo (Shanghai Normal University, China)
  • Zhongyi Huang (Tsinghua University, China)
  • Fukeng Huang (National University of Singapore, Singapore)
  • Shidong Jiang (Flatiron Institute, Simons Foundation, USA)
  • Bangti Jin (University College London, UK)
  • Wenyu Lei (Scuola Internazionale Superiore di Studi Avanzati, Italy)
  • Huiyuan Li (Institute of Software Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)
  • Jichun Li (University of Nevada, Las Vegas, USA)
  • Changpin Li (Shanghai University, China)
  • Dong Liang (York University, Canada)
  • Markus J. Melenk (Technische Universität Wien, Austria)
  • Sheehan Olver (Imperial College London, UK)
  • Sihong Shao (Peking University, China)
  • Jie Shen (Purdue University, USA)
  • Changtao Sheng (Shanghai University of Finance and Economics, China)
  • Qinglin Tang (Sichuan University, China)
  • Chong Wang (Washington and Lee University, USA)
  • Bo Wang (Hunan Normal University, China)
  • Boyi Wang (National University of Singapore, Singapore)
  • Chuanju Xu (Xiamen University, China)
  • Jiang Yang (Southern University of Science and Technology, China)
  • Mohsen Zayernouri (Michigan State University, USA)
  • Yanzhi Zhang (Missouri University of Science and Technology, USA)
  • Zhongqiang Zhang (Worcester Polytechnic Institute, USA)
  • Tao Zhou (The State Key Laboratory of Scientific and Engineering Computing (LSEC), China)
  • Zhi Zhou (The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong, China)



Scroll to Top