Workshop on Machine Learning for cryoEM

(16 Sep 2022–23 Sep 2022)

Organizing Committee



  • Hui Ji  (National University of Singapore)
  • Ardan Patwardhan  (European Molecular Biology Laboratory, European Bioinformatics Institute (EMBL-EBI))

Contact Information

General Enquiries: ims-enquiry(AT)
Scientific Aspects Enquiries: duaneloh(AT)


Cryo-electron microscopy (cryo-EM) has become a major imaging modality for atomic resolution structural biology. Using cryo-EM  we can resolve the atomic structures of nanometer macromolecular machines that are not amenable to imaging techniques such as macromolecular crystallography. The related technique of cryo-electron tomography (cryo-ET) is also indispensable for examining the organization and macromolecular structure of cells at nanometer resolution.

Currently the cryo-EM community faces unprecedented data loads where the only practical way to analyze them requires a heavy reliance on specialized processing algorithms. Recent breakthroughs in machine learning have created opportunities to augment these algorithms with human intuition, complex prior knowledge, and robust validation schemes.

This unique IMS-sponsored workshop gathers international specialists in cryo-EM, machine learning, and mathematical sciences to share and inspire future applications of machine learning in cryo-EM.


Click here for the Workshop Schedule

Some speakers are giving virtual talks.

Tutorial on Single particle imaging by Dari Kimanius (MRC, UK)16 September 2022N/A
Tutorial on RELION by Dari Kimanius (MRC, UK)16 September 2022N/A
Workshop19–22 September 2022View
Tutorial on SmartScope by Jonathan Bouvette (National Institutes of Health, USA)23 September 2022N/A
Tutorial on Smart Leginon by Anchi Cheng (New York Structural Biology Center, USA)23 September 2022N/A


IMS Auditorium


Virtual speakers annotated with *

  • Tristan Bepler (Simons Machine Learning Center, USA)
  • Jonathan Bouvette (National Institutes of Health, USA)
  • Muyuan Chen (Stanford University)
  • Anchi Cheng (New York Structural Biology Center, USA)
  • Daisuki Kihara (Purdue University, USA)*
  • Dari Kimanius (MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, UK)
  • Mikhail Kudryashev (Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine in the Helmholtz Association (MDC), Germany)
  • Yilai Li (University of Michigan, USA)*
  • Duane Loh (National University of Singapore, Singapore)
  • Jola Mirecka (Collaborative Computational Project for electron cryo-microscopy (CCP-EM), UK)
  • Dong Si (University of Washington Bothell, USA)*
  • Amit Singer (Princeton University, USA)*
  • Carlos Sorzano (Spanish National Research Council (CSIC), Spain)*
  • Sameer Velankar (EMBL-EBI Hinxton, UK)*
  • Shruthi Viswanath (Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, India)
  • Thorsten Wagner (MPI Dortmund, Germany)*
  • Min Xu (Carnegie Melon University, USA)*


Scroll to Top