Modelling and Numerical Simulation of Non-Equilibrium Processes Part 2

(17 Jan 2022–28 Jan 2022)

Organizing Committee



  • Yanli Wang (Beijing Computational Science Research Center)

Contact Information

General Enquiries: ims(AT)
Scientific Aspects Enquiries: matcz(AT)


Many classical physical models rely on an assumption of local thermodynamic equilibrium, such as the continuum hypothesis of the Euler and Navier-Stokes equations of fluid mechanics. However, for systems composed of many particles, lack of particle interactions can often render this assumption unjustifiable. More refined models, such as kinetic models and molecular dynamics, retain validity in such situations. However, the high-dimensionality of these models may bring significant difficulties in the numerical simulation. Researchers are actively developing more computable models and more efficient numerical algorithms to describe nonequilibrium processes, which cover a number of fields including fluid mechanics, radiative transfer, plasma physics, etc.

The purpose of this program is to bring together leading scientists involved in the theory and applications of nonequilibrium processes to share recent progress on this topic. We expect the activities will stimulate discussions and promote collaborations between researchers.

Details of Part One of the workshop is here.



Seminar Talks18, 20 and 21 January 2022View
Workshop24–28 January 2022View





Scroll to Top